Learning Blockchain Development as a Frontend Engineer

Learning Blockchain Development as a Frontend Engineer

A blog series documenting my journey on learning blockchain development as a frontend engineer

I recently caught the recent buzz about web3 from Twitter, I picked up my phone and googled "what is Web3", I got this amazing article from Nader Dabit [What is Web#(freecodecamp.org/news/what-is-web3) and it explained what web3 is really about and additional links to learn more about the decentralized web. These articles really sparked my interest in blockchain development in that the market is young and your skills are transferable.

I had the job title "Frontend Engineer" in my current company, I was more focused on the Frontend. I enjoyed writing client-side code more and I knew my way around frontend technologies (React, Vue, HTML5, CSS3) at it. That was my comfort zone.

However, I want to change that and become proficient in the field of Software development. I had more drive in me to extend my knowledge base, my original plan was to add machine learning to my belt but I caught web3 buzz, and my line of focus changed.

While creating a plan to achieve this, I stumbled upon some resources on web3/blockchain. The resources are great and scattered around many platforms such as Youtube & Udemy, Henceforth I will document my journey learning about this great technology for the future.

NOTE: Links to my learning experience will be continually added to this article.